Comfortable

When I see a woman in what I think is a nice outfit, usually a skirt and tights, one thought instantly goes through my mind.

It’s not “That looks hot” or “That looks sexy” or anything like that.

It’s “That looks comfortable.”

I know that Blanchard thinks this is crazy.  He measures comfort only in his own way, and to him women’s clothes are uncomfortable.  Still ask a participant on What Not To Wear, and she will tell you she feels much more comfortable after the makeover, even if her appearance takes more attention.

My heart jumps to being comfortable in my own skin and my own expression.

I wrote about comfort fourteen years ago.  It was a deal then.

And when I hear that interjection in my head, “That looks comfortable,” well, I remember how uncomfortable I am even in this easy and unkempt uniform.