Duty

England Confides That Every Man Will Do His Duty.
Nelson’s message to the fleet before the Battle Of Trafalgar

I’m listening to Adam Nicolson’s Seize the Fire: Heroism, Duty, and the Battle of Trafalgar

The duty of those who stood and fought as those around them were blasted to human pulp with cannon shot, a duty enforced by stories, by love and by the lash, well, that’s some intense duty.

And it makes me think about how I have taken on duty in my obligations to my parents, performing with honor in the face of challenges that require denial of self.

It’s a romantic notion, of course.

And I need to honor that.

Leave a Reply

